top of page

Quality Chalk Paint You Can Make at Home


If you aren't sure what all the rage is surrounding chalk paint, let me bring you aboard the chalk paint bandwagon. Chalk paint started out as a brand of paint specific only to Annie Sloan. Annie Sloan Chalk Paint is still the queen of all chalk paint, but at almost $40 a quart, it has the price tag fit for a queen as well. It also is only sold by licensed distributors, and your nearest Annie Sloan seller can be up to several hours away! Since it's inception in 1990, the chalk paint recipe has been recreated by many different name brands, and home made recipes have cropped up all over the internet.

The most loudly praised DIY chalk paint formula is Plaster of Paris and regular household latex paint. However it isn't my go to formula. In my area, Plaster of Paris is kind of hard to come by. I went to my local craft store on three separate occasions before they had any in stock, and as some of you well know, craft store prices can be out of this world! And while I adore online shopping, when it comes to my DIY projects, I like to be able to stock up and keep going when I run out, instead of waiting 1-3 weeks for delivery.

So I've switched from my Plaster of Paris formula to something much cheaper and easier to come by, non-sanded grout. Non-sanded grout chalk paint and Plaster chalk paint have near identical finishes, the grout being only slightly more 'rough', but still maintaining a velvety, chalky finish. And because you only need about two tablespoons for every cup of latex paint [which I assure you goes a lot farther than you think], those big, giant boxes that are sold at my local Home Depot for $15 will last through many, many projects. Chalk paint is also really easy to distress, so if your tastes run shabby chic, you may want to whip up some of your own!

Chalk paint is heralded as the "No Prep" paint. The tiny bits of plaster or grout in the paint 'grab' onto any finish, requiring no sanding or prep work on your part. However I'm not a big believer in this. If your piece is raw wood, or already painted with latex paint, then sure, you've got nothing to fear. But the porous nature of chalk paint means that any water stains, dark finishes, or unknown stains will bleed through, and if you want an example of the frustration of trying to cover a chalk paint stain, look no further than the Saga of Steve the Dresser. Had I been better informed and my rose coloured glasses not tinted so heavily in favour of the 'No Prep' glamour of chalk paint, I would have realized I had to add a coat of shellac to the dresser first to prevent such staining.

To whip up your own chalk paint, take two tablespoons of your non-sanded grout, mix with a tablespoon of water, and stir until you get rid of any clumps. Once your grout is well mixed, add one cup of the latex paint of your choice, and mix thoroughly again. I use old yogurt containers for this since they have their volume already calculated and I can just recycle them afterward. Adding the grout really quickens the drying time, so only mix it right before you're ready to paint, and in one cup increments. It will start to set up while you're working, and as it starts to get thicker you may have to push it around a bit more.

This method for preparing chalk paint has worked for me on lots of projects now, and always retains that velvety finish. Seal it with furniture wax or water based polycrylic and you're piece is ready to use. Don't forget, if you leave your chalk painted furniture unsealed, that porous paint will absorb every water spot and stain, every fingerprint and dirt smudge. So make sure you invest in some sort of chalk paint appropriate sealer!

If you've been thinking about mixing your own chalk paint at home, there is no budget friendlier way to do it. Go show your furniture some ReLove, and refinish!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page