top of page

Before & After: Pink Ombre Dresser


Pink has really been growing on me the last few years. I used to loathe pink, but as I became an adult, I realized there is more to pink than just baby, hot, and bubblegum hues. There's a world of corals, peaches, berries, and rose pinks that are all very lovely. And ever since my first glimpse of a pink ombre cake, I have been obsessed with the idea of doing a pink ombre dresser.

Photo Courtesy of eddieross.com

I found an off white dresser on Kijiji for a bargain that I thought would be perfect. It wasn't really in bad shape, but the drawers were a mess and needed some love. The insides of the drawers were going to have to be addressed, but it was otherwise in remarkable shape.

Someone at some point had painted it white and let the paint drip everywhere, and it all had to be sanded off. So did the nail polish, strange goo, and other mystery substances that had bonded to the piece over the years.

The whole dresser got a brand new coat of white paint, the drawers were painted pink, and new hardware was installed. Look how beautiful this coral pink looks!

The whole dresser got a little distressing and some antiquing furniture wax. The drawers were finished in some complementary fabric and viola!

The subtle ombre just makes me so happy! (It looks a little washed out in these daylight photographs). And all those lovely original wood details really pop now.

I really love it. It was reserved within 24 hours of listing and purchased within 3 days, so I'm not the only one who is loving pink these days! I really should embrace pink more often!

What's your favourite shade?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page